Author Topic: new greenhouse at this time, what to grow...  (Read 2773 times)

Sparkly

• Hectare
    • Flixton Band (Manchester)
new greenhouse at this time, what to grow...
« on: July 28, 2008, 15:39:03 »
Our new 8x10 foot greenhouse will be arriving in about 2 weeks.  ;D ;D ;D ;D What can we use this for at this time of year? So excited, never had a greenhouse before!

Barnowl

• Hectare
  • getting back to my roots [SW London]
Re: new greenhouse at this time, what to grow...
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2008, 16:23:11 »
Is it a conservatory / lean to against the house or going to be heated over the winter?

Old bird

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2008, 16:33:35 »
How exciting Sparkly!

I am not good at advice on what to put in greenhouses for over the winter as I am useless at it!  I have mine full during spring with plants etc and summer with cucumbers, tomatoes and melons - but will watch this thread to find out what I should be doing!!  I have only been gardening for 30 odd years!

Good luck with yours I am sure you will enjoy it for many years to come!

Old Bird

;D

Sparkly

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2008, 10:31:30 »
It is just a standard stand alone greenhouse. It won't be heated....

Old Bird, I am planning to grow tomatoes, cucumbers, aubergines, chillies and peppers and also use the greenhosue for growing plug plants of veg and bedding flowers.

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2008, 10:34:41 »
Great for over winter salads... I will be putting a new cover on my polytunnel, which has been out of service this summer, but was replaced by a cheap greenhouse...  ;D

Barnowl

• Hectare
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2008, 16:51:16 »
Over winter salads were going to be my suggestion   :)  but there are also brassicas and Asian vegetables.