Author Topic: What a feeling!  (Read 1622 times)

netty

• Not So New ...
What a feeling!
« on: July 25, 2008, 15:01:06 »
Hi this is my first posting as I am very new to allotmenteering..took over my very neglected plot in April and it has been an uphill battle against bram :) :)bles ,marestail etc.But....dug up my first ever grown potatoes and runner beans yesterday wow what a feeling ! We ate them for tea with a little butter and pepper they were gorgeous ! Going to spend most of this year getting the plot into shape but cant wait for next year when I will be growing everything I can It is so rewarding and exciting.Does this excitement fade over the years I wonder? Hope not!

manicscousers

• Hectare
  • www.golborne-allotments.co.uk
Re: What a feeling!
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2008, 15:06:48 »
hiya, netty, welcome to the site, 36 years and still amazed  ;D

valmarg

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2008, 15:12:55 »
Welcome netty to the healthy addiction. ;D

valmarg

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2008, 15:14:40 »
Welcome to the site Netty.... I've done 15 years on this site and still enjoying the challenge, if it gets tame they can always find you a neglected plot to tame. One man on our site loves taking over and clearing a site... must be on his 6th location, to my knowledge!!   :-\

lorna

• Hectare
  • March. Cambridgeshire
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2008, 15:22:28 »
Welcome to A4A, have fun.

asbean

• Hectare
  • Winchester, Hants
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2008, 15:47:23 »
Welcome to A4A, Netty - the excitement never goes - but be prepared for a few disappointments as well as successes.  Our first year we had bumper crops of everything - in subsequent years we found out that there are swings and roundabouts, but we're used to it now (this is our sixth allotment year).

Just remember - don't do too much hard labour at once (frequent rests, to stand back and admire your achievements) and take lots of photos.