Author Topic: veg tart ? anyone  (Read 2436 times)

daileg

• Hectare
veg tart ? anyone
« on: July 07, 2008, 17:45:29 »
has anyone got a veg tart recipe worth trying as im not a veggie but under the current news that produce will go up by another five percent meat has gone through the roof so
im thinking i have a plot its time to use this to its full potentiall so im looking for veg recipes that realy make a meat eater like my self not worry

so my question is if your a vegaterian and have the best recipe ever i want to hear about it as im a former chef and keen to try anything once

manicscousers

• Hectare
  • www.golborne-allotments.co.uk
Re: veg tart ? anyone
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2008, 17:52:00 »
made a couple of fab courgette quiches last week, got a glut of them   ;D
only fried courgettes with onions, put in the quiche case, sprinkled some strong cheese over, poured the egg mix on, cooked and ate half, frozen 2 1/2  :)
good, 'specially if you have your own hens

Emagggie

• Hectare
  • Out to lunch.
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2008, 18:27:36 »
That sounds delicious Mal. Doing it tommorrow I think. :P
Smile, it confuses people.

Squashman

• Half Acre
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2008, 19:26:21 »
Here's a recipe for "Butternut Tart"
Shortcrust pastry                                      Line a flan case with the pastry, prick the base. Seal the flan
1 Med chopped onion                               case in a hot oven. Cut the Squash into quarters, slice and
Mixture of seasonal veg diced                  and boil until tender, then mash. Cook the onion in the oil,
Mustard seed                                            add the diced veg, cook for further 5 mins, add the squash
Breadcrumbs                                             and season. Add the mustard seed, place the mixture into the
1 Butternut Squash                                   flan case, smooth top and sprinkle with cheese and