Author Topic: Another problem....this time strawberries  (Read 1627 times)

Chris Graham

• Hectare
  • Stirling, Scotland
    • Backyard
Another problem....this time strawberries
« on: July 07, 2008, 20:04:15 »
My strawberries seem to be falling off their stalks before becoming ripe.

I took a look under all the foliage and there are hundreds of good sized fruit just lying on the ground.

What could cause this?

???

Astronomy, Veggies & Beer

jordsbabe

• Half Acre
Re: Another problem....this time strawberries
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2008, 21:54:45 »
wish i knew this answer too!

jordsbabe

• Half Acre
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2008, 22:05:35 »
I read somewhere on Google, that with the heavy rain would force the fruit down on to the soil and break the stem ?????? I'm a newbie what do i know lol!!

Chris Graham

• Hectare
  • Stirling, Scotland
    • Backyard
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2008, 22:08:17 »
You could be right there, we have had a lot of rain lately along with a very very strong thunderstorm.  Lightning was right above our house!!!

Its a shame as I would have had a bumper crop.

manicscousers

• Hectare
  • www.golborne-allotments.co.uk
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2008, 08:22:13 »
I noticed the stems on ours were very brittle, only had to touch them, they broke, even if the fruit wasn't ripe  :-\

Chris Graham

• Hectare
  • Stirling, Scotland
    • Backyard
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2008, 08:39:04 »
I noticed the stems on ours were very brittle, only had to touch them, they broke, even if the fruit wasn't ripe  :-\

Any idea the cause of that?

manicscousers

• Hectare
« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2008, 08:41:34 »
no idea, they were second year  and last year were fine  ???

calendula

• Hectare
  • learn to love your weeds (saddleworth)
    • homeopathy
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2008, 19:54:41 »
they are not called strawberries for nothing  ;D