Author Topic: best way to store potatoes?  (Read 8345 times)

ivorjen

• Not So New ...
best way to store potatoes?
« on: June 20, 2008, 00:33:03 »
Hi there  ;D
I'm about to lift a few rows of early spuds & wondered whats the best way to store them  i.e. what type  of bag is best or do you put them in trays.

the sneaky look i had at one of the plants look like an indicator of a good crop so I'm oddly excited at the prospect of MY OWN VEG!!! cant wait   ( I'm still new to allotments
I never thought I would be excited about it the allotment was the wife's idea & I had been lumbered with it but now I'm inspired by it. Lovely what nature can do when you get close & open your eyes & ears.
 ;) :D ;D ;D ;D ;D

keef

• Hectare
Re: best way to store potatoes?
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2008, 00:42:44 »
Paper sacks are the norm, although cardboard boxes work well too - and are easier to store. The important thing is to keep them in the dark. You can sometimes blag paper sacks off your local chippy..

Hesian sacks are OK - but they let a lot of light in and later in the year the spuds will start to sprout earlier.

Store them in a cool, but frost (and rodent!) free place - garage etc.
Straight outt'a compton - West Berkshire.

Please excuse my spelling, i am an engineer

Ishard

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2008, 03:09:22 »
Pease make sure prior to storing that you have hardened the skins off by letting the spuds dry for a few days in the dark or they will rot.

A lot of people leave the spuds in the ground untill the frosts come but that really depends on your soil.

Columbus

• Hectare
    • A Duel of Delight and Desperation Index page
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2008, 04:37:19 »
Hi Ishard, Hi all  :)

I still have last years potatoes in store in sealed buckets of damp earth
in my potting shed from about last October. Most are in perfect condition.

They have kept much better than previous atttempts in paper sacks if you are looking for long term storage for a large harvest.