Author Topic: New Potatoes  (Read 4670 times)

Gazfoz

• Acre
Re: New Potatoes
« Reply #20 on: June 09, 2008, 18:10:10 »
It is easy to lose sight of the fact that the earlies are there to use early and enjoy small and skinless and sweet and delicate and delectable.
It seems to me pointless to wait until they resemble an asteroid before consuming.
Pull em up and enjoy ;D ;D ;D

sunner

• Not So New ...
« Reply #21 on: June 10, 2008, 07:22:48 »
mine sure do have a lot of flowers, think it might be time to start using some of them ? ? ?

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
« Reply #22 on: June 10, 2008, 07:46:11 »
Have a firtle and see.

AB South

« Reply #23 on: June 10, 2008, 08:33:17 »
Hello - this is my first time in this forum and the first time I have attempted to grow my own. I have a very small vege patch and have therefore chosen to grown my pots in bags.

I planted my first earlies in early March and seconds about a month later...problem is they have growen very tall and seem to be falling over and the leaves seem to be vanishing before my eyes. I pulled up one plant yesterday (from firsts) and got 4 marble sized potatoes (which were delicious albiet hardly a meal) - my firsts are not flowering but my seconds are...?

Could you possibly give me some idea as to what to do - I am awfully excited about my pots but don't want to take up too early.

Many thanks

manicscousers

• Hectare
  • www.golborne-allotments.co.uk
« Reply #24 on: June 10, 2008, 09:03:17 »
hiya, AB south, welcome to the site  ;D
as Robert says, have a gentle feel around the roots, jst re-cover if they're too small  :)

AB South

« Reply #25 on: June 10, 2008, 09:36:17 »
Thanks! had a feel around and there were some bigger ones on there so have taken some up. At the same time found some rather huge slugs with orange colour around the outside....any clues? Also found some rotten pots and the carlottes have gone a funny brown colour with speckled skin - they are a little soft.