Author Topic: Heavy Clay Soil  (Read 18499 times)

geordie balfour

Re: Heavy Clay Soil
« Reply #80 on: May 05, 2008, 21:01:18 »
Hello folks, its my first time and I was going to ask for advice on how to deal with heavy clay ! WOW !! did I get an answer!   

betula

• Hectare
« Reply #81 on: May 05, 2008, 21:08:16 »
Welcome to A4A ;D ;D ;D

tonybloke

• Hectare
  • Gorleston 0n sea, Norfolk
« Reply #82 on: May 05, 2008, 22:07:08 »
 ;D ;D ;)
You couldn't make it up!

cornykev

• Hectare
  • Sunny Cheshunt just outside North London
« Reply #83 on: May 06, 2008, 18:06:46 »
Welcome to the asylum Geordie, you certainly joined on a fiery subject now can we all be nice, come on the suns  8) out for christs sake.  ;D ;D ;D
MAY THE CORN BE WITH YOU.

manicscousers

• Hectare
  • www.golborne-allotments.co.uk
« Reply #84 on: May 06, 2008, 18:55:51 »
hiya, geordie, nice to meet you  ;D

Geomet

• Not So New ...
« Reply #85 on: May 06, 2008, 19:07:28 »
An approach I used on heavy clay in the past...is to rotovate 10 mm peabeach into the soil in the autumn/winter with compost /manure....................I,m not taking about a dozen bags of peabeech...................on a 10 rod plot I would use about 10 cubic metres

geordie balfour

« Reply #86 on: May 06, 2008, 20:04:12 »
Thanks for the welcome, you all seem to be very nice people(apart from one) as I would expect from the rare breed that we are.
good to see so many people coming to the ladies defence .   

bluehousehill

• Quarter Acre
« Reply #87 on: May 06, 2008, 20:22:43 »
Hello Geordie welcome to the sight a real shame about the link but on the whole Ive found almost everyone to be real diamonds who have really helped me out a lot. :) ;)
Ní hé lá na gaoithe lá na scolb.
A windy day is not the day to be fixing your thatch (roof).

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
« Reply #88 on: May 06, 2008, 22:40:29 »
What's peabeach, grit?

Baccy Man

• Hectare
  • Powys, Wales
« Reply #89 on: May 06, 2008, 23:38:32 »
Pea Beach