Author Topic: Recomendations please!!  (Read 1936 times)

Mrs R

Recomendations please!!
« on: September 28, 2009, 22:19:54 »
Hello all,

This is my first post.  Am hoping to get an allotment in the very near future so i am trying to get prepared and plan so i am looking to buy some books about allotment gardening.  This will be a first for me so i need to go right back to the basics, sort of step by step guide as i am really a complete novice.

Please can anyone recomend some good books.

Thanks

Laura

lushy86

• Hectare
Re: Recomendations please!!
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2009, 22:31:32 »
Welcome to A4A Mrs R.  There are lots of very clever people on here who will offer great advice.  You could do a search on here for specific questions and teegee's gardeners almanac is fantastic, I'm sure someone more able than me will be able to give you the link.

Good luck, hope you get your plot soon  :)

Lushy x
Make mine a large one!

small

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2009, 23:09:54 »
Hi, Mrs R, well done and good luck. The information on this site is better than any book you can buy. Explore everything, there are hundreds of excellent photographs in all sorts of posts, they will give you so many ideas and so much help. And I don't think any question ever goes unanswered!

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2009, 23:18:48 »
Welcome to A4A Mrs R...  :)

ceres

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2009, 23:20:39 »
Welcome to A4A and hope you get your plot soon.  If you go to the Wiki (4th button from the right at top of the page) you'll find a great book list there from member recommendations.  Particular favourites are Joy Larkom and Dr Hessayon.

Squash64

• Hectare
    • Walsall Road Allotments
« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2009, 07:24:29 »

Hello Laura, welcome to A4A.