Author Topic: Frosty Spuds  (Read 2746 times)

Powderfan

• Not So New ...
Frosty Spuds
« on: April 11, 2008, 06:07:55 »
Hi Guys and Gals

I went to my plot yesterday after work to water my greenhouse plants (not been down there since the weekend) and saw that the frost/snow we had early in the week has killed of the tops of my potato plants.  Should I worry about this or will new shoots emerge?  I have spare seed potatoes so could plant replacements if I need to.

Thanks

Michael

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
Re: Frosty Spuds
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2008, 06:47:30 »
Frost - not snow.

They'll regrow, but delayed.  Next year, earth them up more or use fleece.

Powderfan

• Not So New ...
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2008, 06:51:47 »
Hi Tim

Thanks for that.  I'm a novice and was so happy that things were sprouting. Perhaps next year I will be a little more prepared.  I may try to get some straw to protect them for any more frost we may have this month.

Michael

tim

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2008, 08:45:12 »
How much growth was there?

I doubt you'll need to cover the new shoots. Earthing up should suffice.

Powderfan

• Not So New ...
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2008, 09:29:08 »
Hi Tim

The last time I saw them they were about 2-3" high.

Michael

keef

• Hectare
« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2008, 09:40:22 »
Next year dont plant them so early! Mine wont be going in for another couple of weeks.
Straight outt'a compton - West Berkshire.

Please excuse my spelling, i am an engineer

Powderfan

• Not So New ...
« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2008, 09:49:45 »
Hi Keef