Author Topic: How wet is too wet for planting????  (Read 1972 times)

Crystalmoon

• Hectare
How wet is too wet for planting????
« on: March 29, 2008, 21:36:26 »
Hi Im a newbie to all aspects of growing vegetables  ;)
Ive just got an allotment that I managed to dig over before all this blasted wet weather.
The ground is really wet & I dont know how many dry days my lottie will need before I can plant my potatoes (second early & salad) & any seeds  ???
I have sown some seeds indoors for now but I am running out of windowsills fast! 
Any advice would be much appreciated, thanks.   

goodlife

• Hectare
Re: How wet is too wet for planting????
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2008, 22:09:34 »
That is difficult one to describe...if the soil is so wet that is heavy to handle...or when you stand on it you sink in= need wellies or there is puddles on the surface, or taking handfull of the soil and you can squeeze water out of it or if you rather fancy a wetsuit when approaching the plot.... ;D
Give it a coulple of dry days and just try to turn over few spadefulls..if it still feels hard work..leave the soil for another couple of days.
There is no panic with planting potatoes yet and it is better to wait the soil to become workable..Nothing worst than stamping on the wet soil and then it dries to a concrete surface...patience..

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2008, 22:24:05 »
Wait for it to get better. If you plant when the soil's wet and cold your seeds may well end up rotting rather than growing. One good thing about all this rain is that it will begin to warm the soil up a bit.

kt.

• Hectare
  • Teesside
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2008, 23:03:52 »
As a general guide:  If the soil sticks to your fork, spade and wellies in clumps and will not fall off then it is too wet.   Wet or damp soil is fine.  Heavy muddy soil is no good for working.
All you do and all you see is all your life will ever be

Eristic

• Hectare
  • NW London (Brent)