Allotment Stuff > Allotment Movement

Any ideas

<< < (2/3) > >>

Yarwooda:
As an allotment officer my self i would sugest setting up an association. That would show that you are all commited to the site . I then would aproch your Allotment officer and ask for help in hireing equipment to clear plots. It would be cheaper for them to do this than get a landscape contractor in to do the work.
It would also show your commitment to the site and display partnership working.
I then would form work parties and slowly strim down and clear the vacant plots.
By doing this together over the next 6 /12.
By being pro active you then can advertise the newly strimed plots for letting. Any new tenants should be made aware of the work the association have done for them and in return ask for their assistsance to clear the next phase of plots. This will soon have a great feeling of comarardary as the site menbers will be having more pride in the site as they have been doing the work.
Keep a record of how many people help out and what jobs were done and hours worked as these can act as volentary hours for match funding it you apply for grant aid.
Also contact your local Healthy living project if you have one as they may be able to help along with local GP's sugesting a GP referal scheam allotments on perscription. Stress the theraputic, excersise and healthy benifits of growing chemical free food on allotments along with the social interactive benifits sutch as learning new skills & team building.

It may seem an lot to do but it would be worth it in the end.

Good luck
Let me know how you get on.

Alan  

loopylizzie: