Author Topic: How should I start my plants?  (Read 1752 times)

Crystalmoon

• Hectare
How should I start my plants?
« on: March 21, 2008, 16:57:31 »
Hi everyone, I am very new to having an allotment & have never grown vegetables before. I was hoping to keep things simple by sowing my crops directly into the soil (starting this month) but the weather has been so bad & with frosts still predicted would it be a better idea to start some plants off indoors instead? Or should I just wait for a couple of weeks longer & sow outside? Thanks
« Last Edit: March 21, 2008, 17:05:26 by Crystalmoon »

betula

• Hectare
Re: How should I start my plants?
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2008, 17:04:27 »
I put my beans peas and carrots directly into the soil but later when the soil has warmed up a bit. :)

Zoglet

• Half Acre
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2008, 17:52:14 »
I like to start as much as I can in modules as this seems to increase their survival rate once released into the great outdoors. The only limit to this is the amount of window sill space available. But I also agree bigger seed like beans and peas, onion sets and garlic are more than able to cope on their own ( assuming you don't have mice/ pigeons etc).

Good luck!

Z
Got first allotment 24//4/06 - so much to do!

Plot69

• Hectare
  • Lincolnshire
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2008, 20:10:43 »
How should I start my plants?

I put all mine in straight lines in seed trays, cover them with a little soil and then shout...

Ready........ Steady........ GO!

Seriously though, I'm trying an experiment this year. Rather than planting my seeds in compost I've sieved a trugfull of soil from my allotment and I'm sowing them in my greenhouse in that.

The theory is they won't check or suffer a shock when they're planted out when their roots find a totally different soil to what they've been used to.

Wether it will work or not is another thing.
Tony.

Sow it, grow it, eat it.

caroline7758

• Hectare
  • Berwick-upon-Tweed