Author Topic: How Much Effort Does it Require to Work an Allotment?  (Read 10888 times)

bluehousehill

• Quarter Acre
Re: How Much Effort Does it Require to Work an Allotment?
« Reply #40 on: March 12, 2008, 11:52:06 »
Thanks for that Lauren I will use sheep manure its in abundance where I am. When I see the farmer I will ask him. 

Dale
Ní hé lá na gaoithe lá na scolb.
A windy day is not the day to be fixing your thatch (roof).

hoonteo

• Not So New ...
« Reply #41 on: March 12, 2008, 21:47:55 »
I couldn't agree more with bluehousehill. I'm a newbie, and no, I'm not going to throw money at my allotment, one of the aspects that attracted me to it was the recycling aspect of it, using old bits to make new ones. So far I've only spent £27 and I've been on it a month, that was to get scaffolding wood. My friend has offered me her shed, and I'm always scrounging. Also, what's work? You either want to do it or you don't. I go there when I can, and I plan to enjoy it.

antipodes

• Hectare
  • W. France, 5m x 20m (900 ft2)
    • My allotment blog
« Reply #42 on: March 13, 2008, 13:22:42 »
It depends on so many factors. I admit that i do not spend nearly as much time on the lot as I should, but I don't really have a social life  down there either so I go, do the work and come home. It is a couple of minutes' walk from home.

Last year being first year, there was all the digging etc, all the crop failures which were hard to deal with, etc. This year I know what worked, so I am using this system: dig over and cover with tarps the next plot you want to plant e.g. i did that with onions, now the spuds have the same treatment. That way the digging over and planting are not on the same day. I plant then dig over the next  bed, e.g. this weekend the first earlies spuds go in, the tarp will go on the root veg bed that I will dig once I plant the spuds etc etc.
Mulch where possible. It cuts down on weeding.