Author Topic: Poly House anyone?  (Read 2210 times)

Geepeeaay

Poly House anyone?
« on: March 03, 2008, 21:06:41 »
Hi All,

I'm a Newbie to this site and was wondering if anyone has crossed a Poly tunnel with a Greenhouse as I have recently done?
I've not had such a large undercover growing area before

Would be interested in discussing growing techniques, advantages / disadvantages with using plastic as opposed to glass i.e. air circulation/temp probs

Is it very different growing under plastic as opposed to under glass? Is the build shape going to matter?

Recent photos are in My Gallery under 2nd half plot

Lauren S

• Hectare
  • Delightful Devon
Re: Poly House anyone?
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2008, 21:56:42 »
Hi Geepeeaay  and welcome to A4A.
I'm very impressed with your plot and your polyhouse. Great idea. I wish you good luck with anything you intend only growing in there

Lauren  :)
:) Net It Or You Won't Get It  :)

carolinej

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2008, 22:53:10 »
Wow!! What lovely plots! What are you growing up your pergola?

cj :)

GrannieAnnie

• Hectare
  • in Delaware, USA growing zone 6 or 7
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2008, 23:28:50 »
It looks like a roomy walk-in polyhouse. I have no experience except with a 4X6 zippered plastic type "greenhouse" which didn't work in our area because it got too hot and there was no automatic ventilation system. In your area folks say that isn't a problem so ENJOY!
Your first plot pictures were beautiful.
The handle on your recliner does not qualify as an exercise machine.

Baccy Man

• Hectare
  • Powys, Wales
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2008, 23:43:17 »
There are 2 problems firstly ventilation which causes problems with excess heat & humidity during the day.
Secondly polythene loses heat faster than glass does so they tend to get cooler at night than a glass greenhouse does.

There are plans linked to in this thread which resolve the ventilation problems by including several windows.