Author Topic: What can I plant and When  (Read 928 times)

caseylee

• Hectare
What can I plant and When
« on: February 12, 2008, 00:34:59 »
Hello there
I am a newbie to the allotment site, and I have been trying to find a decent planting calender everywhere.  I have a rough idea on what times of year I need to plant certain things, but was wondering if anyone had a calender version that I can print and keep in my file.
Thank you
Linda

manicscousers

• Hectare
  • www.golborne-allotments.co.uk
Re: What can I plant and When
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2008, 08:34:48 »
hiya, linda..welcome to the site, I think if you put it in the search at the top of the page, there was a thread earlier on this, happy growing  ;D

luckydog

• Half Acre
  • Montgomeryshire
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2008, 10:54:44 »

Barnowl

• Hectare
  • getting back to my roots [SW London]
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2008, 11:33:46 »
This is less graphic but has some more uncommon varieties such a Pak Choi

http://www.nickys-nursery.co.uk/seeds/pages/vegetable-calendar.htm

I also find this site quite helpful but be careful, the front page section 'What needs sowing' doesn't distinguish between indoor and outdoor - you need to click on the veg concerned to check.

http://www.the-gardeners-calendar.co.uk/default.asp

Producer

• Quarter Acre
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2008, 19:33:06 »
These calanders are really helpful.  As a novice still trying to get their plot free of weeds and litter Ive been totally confused when I start sowing and how many months I have to do so...  Some of the books have diary type calenders in i.e. January start doing this and that....  But I dont find these helpful as Im halfway through Feb!  Anyway, the calanders mentioned in this thread are perfect.