Author Topic: summer and autumn raspberries  (Read 1365 times)

bumble

• Not So New ...
  • I love Allotments 4 All
summer and autumn raspberries
« on: February 06, 2008, 12:03:50 »
What is the difference between the two and which ones should I be pruning?

Old bird

• Hectare
Re: summer and autumn raspberries
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2008, 12:30:40 »
Summer raspberries fruit in the summer .  Then come late summer you cut the canes that have fruited leaving the new ones that will have come up ready to fruit the following year.

Autumn ones fruit late summer/autumn and I cut them completely down christmas time completely and they will then send up canes in the spring and will fruit on that years canes.

Simple really when you know!

Old Bird

;D

valentinelow

• Quarter Acre
    • 'One Man And His Dig' blog
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2008, 12:31:35 »
I am not an expert, but the big difference is that summer raspberries produce their fruit on last year's growth, and autumn raspberries fruit on the current year's growth. That means you cut the autumn ones right down to the ground in the winter; as a result, they don't need support. I think that you need some quite robust support for summer raspberries.
Ours are Autumn Bliss - a popular variety, and rightly so. Even though they are meant to be an autumn variety, they start fruiting in the summer (July, from memory) and keep on going for ages, right through to October or so. They produce masses of fruit, and dead tasty they are too.
If you ask me, I would say go for autumn ones every time.

Deb P

• Hectare
  • Still digging it....
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2008, 12:38:25 »
Two posters have beaten me to it, but as it takes me ages to type this I'm going to post it anyway!  ;D

Autumn fruiting raspberries are easy....they are cut down to nothing in February, grow new canes in spring, fruit in late summer autumn, canes are left overwinter and then cut down in Feb. again.