Author Topic: Feeding??  (Read 2348 times)

gt568

• Not So New ...
Feeding??
« on: April 10, 2008, 16:50:00 »
I'm new to chicken keeping so please bear with me, I'm probably worrying about nothing.

Since I've let my 2 hens out of the run during the day and into the whole garden they seem to eat hardly any of the pellets from the feeder.  Is this because they are munching from the garden ect or should I be worried?

MTIA.

beanie3

• Half Acre
Re: Feeding??
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2008, 20:54:49 »
Hi!

Over the past few months mine have been let out further a field (out of the run to venture into the garden)

They only venture out when i am around ie after work and at weekends- but i notice a significant difference at weekends and how much corn/pellets they have leftover - they enjoy the garden muching too much!

So i wouldnt overly worry......i hope that helps

Beanie x

kt.

• Hectare
  • Teesside
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2008, 22:20:45 »
Since I've let my 2 hens out of the run during the day and into the whole garden they seem to eat hardly any of the pellets from the feeder.  Is this because they are munching from the garden ect or should I be worried?

They will be scratching up beasties to eat all day long.  Not including  eating any berries and other foilage they can get into.  Including your veg & flower patch ;D
All you do and all you see is all your life will ever be

jonny211

• Acre
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2008, 23:40:55 »
Hiya,

If they've got access to grass they're probably munching on that rather than boring old pellets, I know mine would choose grass any day.

Jon

gt568

• Not So New ...
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2008, 07:45:54 »
Hiya,

If they've got access to grass they're probably munching on that rather than boring old pellets, I know mine would choose grass any day.

Jon

Should I keep them in the run longer to make them eat pellets rather than the grass?

allaboutliverpool

• Hectare
  • allaboutliverpool.com
    • My Allotment in Liverpool