Author Topic: Help me get some Sweet Peas please!!!  (Read 3091 times)

David P

• Quarter Acre
Help me get some Sweet Peas please!!!
« on: January 10, 2008, 00:19:39 »
hello all again,

For the past couple of years now I have failed to grow some sweet peas up my allotment and in my back garden.... they only get to about 4 inches tall 

Can anyone come up with any tips or advise on how to have a good year with them.

Thanks

Eristic

• Hectare
  • NW London (Brent)
    • Down the Plot
Re: Help me get some Sweet Peas please!!!
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2008, 00:37:29 »
Stamp on all the slugs.

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2008, 00:41:16 »
Good Point!
 ;D

Busby

• Half Acre
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2008, 06:17:03 »
I'll join you David P in your request for help. Although I've been gardening for 35 years I have yet to grow a decent looking sweet pea - my neighbours have no difficulty. Has nothing to do with slugs either.

Advice please.

flowerofshona2007

• Hectare
  • Flowerofshona
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2008, 06:29:34 »
Sweet peas need very deep dug ground and they are VERY greedy ! make sure there is plenty of food in the soil, i add either blood/fish/bone or Vitax Q4 before i plant and remember to feed them during the summer, they also like plenty to drink.
 Sow now-Feb and pinch out after 2-3 sets of leaves and if you want the big show flowers you will need to remove the tendrils and tie them in and this gives more energy to the flowers :)
 Pick as many as you can and dead head and you should have wonderful sweetpeas  ;D

cambourne7

• Hectare
  • Growing in the back garden having lost lotty
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2008, 06:53:00 »
I 2 have had problems growing sweetpeas, this year i have forked out some money in the sales before christmas on some Jiffy Trays And Pellets i can only fit 8 at a time but i think that should be plenty :)