Author Topic: Compost problem  (Read 944 times)

Common_Clay

• Acre
  • Loved
Compost problem
« on: December 18, 2007, 12:25:28 »
My compost bin smells horrible, almost a sort of amonia smell. The worms that I put in there are always on the lid, loads of them tangled up. I assume they're trying to escape what's in the bin. I have been filling the bin for over two years and have not yet had any compost. I try to put in a mixture of both vegetable scraps, a bit of green waste and newspaper/shredded cardboard. I've tried adding some soil to help activate it. I water it, I don't turn it as much because of where it is, but I've done it thoroughly at least once, possibly twice and I do try to turn over what's in there now and again, but not the whole lot. Could this be where I'm going wrong? Why isn't it turning to compost, and how can I please the worms?

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
Re: Compost problem
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2007, 12:30:21 »
Doesn't sound too good...
my biochemistry is naff.. you sound like you are doing it right, although I never water mine...
 ::)

Old bird

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2007, 12:40:00 »
Hi - Always like to add my four pennyworth!!

I have worms on the lid regularly!  Quite ghastly as they drop off onto feet (well nearly!!)  I wouldn't worry too much.  I wouldn't water it just keep adding a mix of stuff - nothing too watery though!  I can't think why it smells but I would just keep going - without any further water!

I don't think the worms are trying to escape - not quite sure what they are doing though!  Maybe it is their mountaineering challenge activity when they get bored with working their way through rotting vegetables!!

Good luck!

Old Bird

Eristic

• Hectare
  • NW London (Brent)
    • Down the Plot
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2007, 12:45:31 »
I think that the ammonia? smell you are getting is probably the result of fruit fly maggots doing their business. Nothing to worry about.