Author Topic: Onion sets not sprouting - please help!  (Read 3145 times)

desnz

• Not So New ...
Onion sets not sprouting - please help!
« on: December 05, 2007, 10:51:52 »
Hi. We planted a few sets of onions over the past 6 weeks or so and one set have sprouted wonderfully and the other haven't at all - any advice? Thanks!

laura G

• Quarter Acre
Re: Onion sets not sprouting - please help!
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2007, 10:59:52 »
Hi, i was also worried abou this (as it is my first year) so i pulled a few up and they were growing lots of roots, so am no longer worried. only one of mine have sprouted too.
I planted mine out 6th Nov.
Laura

desnz

• Not So New ...
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2007, 11:16:48 »
Thanks so much Laura, will pull a couple up on the weekend and keep my fingers crossed they have roots!

manicscousers

• Hectare
  • www.golborne-allotments.co.uk
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2007, 18:07:53 »
hiya, desnz..welcome to the site
I wouldn't worry, they'll be busy putting down roots, they grow quite slowly over the winter, some of ours are up and some not showing, maybe I put some deeper than others  ;D

desnz

• Not So New ...
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2007, 09:37:29 »
Thanks so much Manicscousers for the advice and welcome. This is a great website, just need to figure out how to get a pic up there. We'll check the sets out this weekend.

Am loving having an allotment, only got it in April this year so did lots of clearing and managed a successful 'three sisters' system with corn, courgettes and french beans amongst lots of other things. We're aiming to grow all our own veges next year and not buy any from the supermarket....we shall see how that goes! Love the flavour though of homegrown/allotment produce, reminds me of being a kid back in NZ.

Deb P

• Hectare
  • Still digging it....
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2007, 11:15:15 »