Author Topic: please help with firewall,spyware,adware!  (Read 8649 times)

PAULW

• Acre
Re: please help with firewall,spyware,adware!
« Reply #20 on: December 31, 2007, 04:46:16 »
Try Spybot and Spyware Terminator both free products and find stuff Ad-Aware can miss, Im not paranoid but I run all three programs to clean up my PC.

telboy

• Hectare
  • I love Allotments4All
« Reply #21 on: December 31, 2007, 21:45:18 »
 - I fully agree with the negative comments about Norton.
 - Zone alarm is excellent & highly rated by 'Which'.
 - Cloudmark (American) blocks 98% of spam & will also block phishing emails.
 - Adware & Spybot are very good also.
One has to remember that loading the above will give you excellent protection but will slow your 'puter down!
Eskimo Nel was a great Inuit.

Larkshall

• Hectare
  • Near Cambourne (Cambs.)
    • Ellis Rowell's Website
« Reply #22 on: December 31, 2007, 23:22:22 »
I've been using Ubuntu OS (GNU/Linux) for several months now. Don't have to worry about these things because the file structure is totally different and virii do not work (the system just ignores them).
« Last Edit: December 31, 2007, 23:24:03 by Larkshall »
Organiser, Mid Anglia Computer Users (Est. 1988)
Member of the Cambridge Cyclists Touring Club

Baccy Man

• Hectare
  • Powys, Wales
« Reply #23 on: January 01, 2008, 00:25:52 »
If you simply never run untrusted executables while logged in as the root user (or equivalent), all the "virus checkers" in the world will be at best superfluous. "Hostile" executables (including viruses) are almost unfindable in the Linux world — and no real threat to it — because they lack root-user authority, and because Linux admins are seldom stupid enough to run untrusted executables as root
Any program on a Linux machine, viruses included, can only do what the user who ran it can do. Real users aren't allowed to hurt the system (only the root user can), so neither can programs they run.