Author Topic: Anybody saving next years seed?  (Read 3280 times)

Pigletwillie

• Quarter Acre
    • Hilltop Adventures Blog
Anybody saving next years seed?
« on: October 25, 2007, 11:32:43 »
This is to complement the thread asking if eople are buying their seeds for next year yet.

We have saved

several heritage tall peas,
lots of pole beans for haricots/ butterbeans including some Serbian / Croatian varieties,
rose de roscoff onions and banana shallots
lots of flower seeds from hollyhocks to agapanthus

http://pigletsplots.blogspot.com/2007/10/be-prepared.html

Are any of you guys avid seed savers ?

« Last Edit: October 25, 2007, 11:55:47 by Pigletwillie »

Lindsay

• Acre
  • Near Avignon, France
Re: Anybody saving next years seed?
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2007, 12:14:15 »
I'm sure there are plenty who are avid seed savers on here! 

Having had success with pumpkin seeds in the past, this is my first year at trying to save some other types of seeds - french green beans, courgette, melon, butternut squash and potimarron, basil, tomato and aubergine.  I hope I'll be successful - but I'll still be buying the odd packet of seeds to make sure!

Could other seed savers perhaps give some feedback as to which are the most successful?

star

• Hectare
  • Northampton, sm greenhouse, heated propagator
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2007, 13:06:16 »
Ive saved
French Climbing Beans
Flat Leaved Parsley.....not many seeds developed
Spinach

Not much really, a few flower seeds. I want to leave one parsnip to go to seed next year. Unfortunatly I didnt plant enough for seed saving as well with only having a small space.
I will be getting some from Real Seeds though.......I love the Heritage varieties.

NEED A LOTTIE!!
I was born with nothing and have most of it left.

Rhubarb Thrasher

• Hectare
  • Dark Side Of The Rhubarb
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2007, 14:13:48 »