Photo Gallery > Photo Talk

Competition Changes -Have we gone too far?

(1/5) > >>

Garden Manager:
Can someone tell me what was wrong with a simple 'Photo of the month' competition? Nice and simple, just remember to send in your picture and vote.

Now it looks like you have to A) Work out which category your photo fits into and B) keep checking to find out when the next competition for that category is open. Then what about voting for the best/favorite photo in that category. More complications!

I think we are likely to get less members taking part under this system than the old one. most of us have busy lives and i for one have missed out on the last few months competitions due to other commitments. I think this trend might (sadly) continue, at least until I get used to the new setup or WE CHANGE BACK TO THE OLD ONE!!

I put the blame squarely at the door of our new moderator meself...... :o :P

star:
Hi GA,

Speaking as a relative newbie here, I wasnt sure where the 'Photo of the Month' actually was. I did see the posted winners but didnt ever see the photos. I found it confusing.

On the other hand I do understand how you feel (and others who know this forum well) about changes made when you found things perfectly workable before. I also appreciate how time is a premium for lots of people with busy lives.

In defence of the 'new moderator', its very difficult to organise new sections and headings, and to ultimately please everyone all of the time.

I would think that possibly, with named sections for funny, life, scenic photos it would make accessing the catagory easier and quicker for busy people.

Would the competition catagories not be a 'sticky', easily spotted for everyone?

There will always be hiccups with changes but they can be ironed out with feedback, time and patience.

Froglegs:

--- Quote from: star on October 17, 2007, 00:14:27 ---

There will always be hiccups with changes but they can be ironed out with feedback, time and patience.