Author Topic: What do I look for???????  (Read 2363 times)

TrailRat

• Half Acre
  • I like the feel of dirt in my teeth
What do I look for???????
« on: June 23, 2004, 18:47:39 »
I'm expected to hear from the secretary of the site near to me on Monday so I can go choose a plot.
I know all the vacant plots need a serious going over with a weed whacker but I was wondering what the how do I choose a plot that will work best. What do I have to look for? Any special requirements for that decent slice of England?

TrailRat
If it weren't for beer and sex than cycling would be the best thing in the world.

sarahr

• Half Acre
  • Oooh Shiny!
Re:What do I look for???????
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2004, 20:53:41 »
Speaking as a complete novice I would have thought the more fertile the ground, the bigger the weeds. Of course this is a bit of a problem when you come to try and get rid of them. My ground is extremely fertile as the nettles, docks, grass, bindweed and all the other nasty weeds are discovering. >:( I would say pick a plot that you like and is close to the water pipes. Pick a plot next to someone that has an extremely neat plot. I have a very neat plot next door and behind. The other side is also a new plot holder that seems to have gone off the idea because I haven't seen him for a few months. The land is going to get overgrown again (recently rotovated) and I'll have seeds blowing onto my plot.

Debs

• Hectare
  • If at first you don't succeed, try and try again!!
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2004, 21:39:41 »
See if you can get a plot which has a shed or similar on it - then at least you shall have somewhere to shelter in bad weather.

Whatever you choose, you can be sure that other plot holders will want to help out with spare plants , hints, tips etc..

A good aspect West or S/West is helpful for sunshine to ripen up your produce and help it grow.

Other more seasoned experienced bods will advise you.

Good luck!

Debs

MissBaritone

• Half Acre