Author Topic: touchy subject !!  (Read 2575 times)

wilko

• Acre
  • Crowle
touchy subject !!
« on: August 14, 2007, 16:12:21 »
I've just had another visit from the in-laws  ::), I must say I haven't had so many visits as I have had recently,not only from them, but quite a lot of the family. ???

now as this is my first year growing veg, I'm obviously delighted with the results, and did give them stuff to try, toms, runner beans etc, at first, now they are, asking for more  :-\

I don't have an allotment, just my back garden, so I don't grow the amounts to have a glut ! I did have ideas of filling the freezer with produce that OH and I could eat through the winter.............. but so far I haven't frozen that much

when I do chutneys and pickles and jams they want some as well

now how do I tactfully refuse when they ask for more?  :-\

do you think I'm being mean?  :-\
Life is to short !!!

Si D

• Acre
    • North Birmingham CTC
Re: touchy subject !!
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2007, 16:14:14 »
Try giving them a few packets of seed instead - and tell them that next year you'll expect a return of the crops you gave them this year  ;D

cambourne7

• Hectare
  • Growing in the back garden having lost lotty
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2007, 16:16:23 »
yes good idea, tell them how easy it was and offer to share the seeds.

manicscousers

• Hectare
  • www.golborne-allotments.co.uk
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2007, 16:32:34 »
don't forget you're growing for you as well, if you want to share, invite them for a meal, I used to get shopping lists from some of mine , I don't boast about how well we do any more,  ;D

norfolklass

• Hectare
  • Norwich - a fine city
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2007, 16:43:35 »
I can sympathise. my mum suggested that I grow some strawberries so that I can make jam for her :o
I suggested that I buy her a strawberry tower and some strawberry plants for a christmas/birthday present and she could make her own!

cornykev

• Hectare