Author Topic: I have been vandalised!  (Read 7223 times)

aquilegia

• Hectare
  • hello!
Re:I have been vandalised!
« Reply #20 on: June 14, 2004, 13:12:53 »
BB - watch out I'm a bit of an amateur psychologist - this is one of my pet topics.

I think the reason why so many kids now resort to vandalism, drugs, etc is because they have so much. Modern childhood toys and games all totally discourage the use of the imagination. And the kids have so many toys they never have to think for themselves what to do next.

So as they start to become adults and toys are put away, they have no idea how to entertain themselves. This boredom leads to frustration which naturally leads to violence. Vandalism and graffitti also mean the kids can make their mark and have some influence on the world (which is another thing they feel is lacking).

The answer? give them allotments of their own. Teach them how to plan, be creative, nuture, take care of another living thing etc!
gone to pot :D

Granny_Smith

• Half Acre
  • Of course its me - who else could look like this ?
« Reply #21 on: June 14, 2004, 13:14:03 »
Why do we keep trying to be nice to these kids. When I found out that one of my daughter's so-called friends was responsible for three acts of vandalism on my car (he wanted the stereo system and tapes for his own car) I went round his at night and super glued the locks on his car. Might not be the behaviour you expect from a responsible adult, but I felt better and he found out what it was like to be at the receiving end.
Granny is still your best friend !

budgiebreeder

• Hectare
  • West Yorkshire.
« Reply #22 on: June 14, 2004, 13:34:39 »
Yes Aqui and it's one of my pet topics as well.Good old fashioned discipline and respect should be taught in the home.
As well as the schools then the kids would learn to respect themselves as well as others.