Author Topic: Unwins pea seeds - Alderman  (Read 991 times)

xqbgal

• Not So New ...
Unwins pea seeds - Alderman
« on: July 18, 2007, 16:09:07 »
Has anyone had any problems with the consistency of this variety this year?
I have been growing Alderman for a few years but this is the first time I have used Unwins and although some plants have produced the usual long, dark green pods, the majority are a midge modge of pods of different shape, size and colour. The only similarity is that all plants have grown to about 7ft.
Could it be possible that there has been some cross pollination in the production of these seeds?
I would appreciate your comments please.

Mrs Ava

• Hectare
Re: Unwins pea seeds - Alderman
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2007, 18:14:34 »
I can't remember which 'producer' I am using this year, but the first sowing were all quite small pods, lots of which were mishapen.  The later batch - Suttons I think, are much better.

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2007, 18:52:06 »
It is actually very difficult to cross pollinate peas... they self pollinate before the flowers open... having said that I have three seven foot plants in a row of Feltham First.... perhaps the very hot/dry July last year messed them about...
 ???

allaboutliverpool

• Hectare
  • allaboutliverpool.com
    • My Allotment in Liverpool
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2007, 20:05:49 »
Mine are saved from last year and apart from one plant which has misshapen pods, they are all great.

http://www.allaboutliverpool.com/allaboutallotments_Vegetables_peas.html

Eristic

• Hectare
  • NW London (Brent)
    • Down the Plot
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2007, 22:07:13 »