Author Topic: Blight strikes!  (Read 1255 times)

ladybizzy

• Not So New ...
Blight strikes!
« on: June 30, 2007, 17:59:42 »
I'm still a newbie at growing veg, but I think I have early potato blight looking at photos on the internet.  It's been there about a week I think, but the haulms are still OK, some are yellowing. Should I remove everything and then leave the tubers for a few weeks?
Is there anything else I can do?
Thanks

OllieC

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Nairn
Re: Blight strikes!
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2007, 18:20:55 »
Same thing here ladybizzy - although I've been growing toms & spuds for a while now... Only noticed it today. I've pulled up all suspect toms - about 30 plants (any with rot or blackened bits on leaves) and coated every remaining tom and spud in Bordeaux mixture. Although it's all washed off by now probably.
I'll keep a very close eye on the survivors over the coming days, and exercise a vicious regime - culling & coating with Bordeaux...

Chances of survival are slim, but it's not fair on neighbours to leave infected plants...

allaboutliverpool

• Hectare
  • allaboutliverpool.com
    • My Allotment in Liverpool
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2007, 20:18:35 »
It does not sound like blight, which rather than turning the haulm yellow, tends to turn it into a blackened mass, unless the weather is very dry, in which case blight is unlikely.

Did it start off like my photographs?

These photos were taken last Autumn of my Christmas crop which of course never happened.

http://www.allaboutliverpool.com/allaboutallotments1_homepage

Uncle Joshua

• Hectare
    • nikkershaw.net
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2007, 22:01:29 »
I had what seemed to be blight on my first tomato but having pulled the first one off the plant now seems fine.

ladybizzy

• Not So New ...
« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2007, 18:06:58 »