Author Topic: annis horribilis  (Read 3318 times)

Deb P

• Hectare
  • Still digging it....
Re: annis horribilis
« Reply #20 on: June 27, 2007, 09:29:19 »
You are right TeeGee, it has been a really odd year, with it's fair share of successes and failures. It is my first year with an allotment, and although I have grown fruit and veg at home for many years, this is the first time I've had the opportunity to do it on any scale. I expected to have failures because of my ignorance, and also successes because of beginners luck! Growing on a plot that has not been worked for a while was always going to be a bit of an experiment...

I can appreciate that when you have built up a such a wealth of experience that you share so readily with others having any failures must be harder to bear, but it also gives us all a reminder that sometimes it may be just down to weather and climate.

The pest issue is something else, I know what it is like to have a neighbour who does little than strim his plot every so often so the dandelions all flower and seed downhill on my plot................how I would love to get hold of that plot and look after it!! Again, I'm sure the odd weather conditions are contributing to conditions that favour pests and diseases of all sorts, I just hope that is not something we will have to get used to.

I find this forum so valuable because when things go a bit pear shaped or I don't know how to tackle something I can come on here and ask .........well just about anything without feeling belittled. I have found your site (in particular the comprehensive photographs)  very helpful and insightful this past year. I hope you will  feel able to continue, mild winter or not........you may not realise what a valuable resource you are!
If it's not pouring with rain, I'm either in the garden or at the lottie! Probably still there in the rain as well TBH....🥴

http://www.littleoverlaneallotments.org.uk

antipodes

• Hectare
  • W. France, 5m x 20m (900 ft2)