Author Topic: Newbie here - freaking out already!  (Read 1596 times)

Smileyk

• Quarter Acre
Newbie here - freaking out already!
« on: June 28, 2007, 21:33:39 »
Well I've just spoken to the lady in charge of the allotments and told her which plot we'd like.  The agreement will be posted to us tomorrow hopefully but we have the go ahead to start now - just in time for a lovely rainy weekend!  ::)

The plot is BIG, quite a few onsite are only half used and the lady was offering us the corner bit next to ours too - as long as we clear it!  It's about 4 foot high in blackberry, brambles and stinging nettles.   We'll leave it for now (we want the blackberries in the summer!) but may move into that once we get ourselves established.  At the moment I am worrying about what the heck to plant first....   *eek*

This means I can move my raspberry canes from my flower bed into my veggie plot as I won't need to plant veggies there anymore.

manicscousers

• Hectare
  • www.golborne-allotments.co.uk
Re: Newbie here - freaking out already!
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2007, 21:50:00 »
congrats, smileyk...little and often, and have a wonderful time..still time to plant lots, we seem to forget it's only the end of june..also, garden centres and nurseries may still have some plants left, and there may be some nice allotment neighbours with extra plants for you, if you can clear a bit here and there  :)

asbean

• Hectare
  • Winchester, Hants
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2007, 21:52:43 »
Welcome to the madhouse, Smiley.  Hope you get some fine weather for your clearing  :) :)
The Tuscan Beaneater

cambourne7

• Hectare
  • Growing in the back garden having lost lotty
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2007, 22:10:20 »
Hi Smileyk

Welcome, where are you??

Cambourne7

Deva Duke

• Not So New ...
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2007, 22:15:12 »
Hi smileyk and welcome, hope your plot is not under to much water at the moment. Don't forget to take before and after pics. Good luck dd.

emmy1978

• Hectare