Author Topic: What state was your allotment in when you first got it?  (Read 3236 times)

e-mushroom

• Not So New ...
Hi, got my very first allotment yesterday, so a total newbie.

Been pleasantly surprised in some respects:

1. The soil seems very fertile. Lots of well-nourished weeds. Black soil.
2. Lots of wildlife. Saw 2 very healthy toads, and a load of centipedes, a cheeky fox, and a sparrowhawk!
3. Wild raspberries, blackberries and redcurrants just getting on with it.
4. after years of living next to busy roads, how peaceful and quiet it was.
5. everyone I met at the allotment site was friendly and willing to chat, sometimes at length  :)

Been a bit shocked about other bits.

1. the amount of broken glass. Looks like either a greenhouse or cold panes were there. I could tell that there was glass there, even though it was buried under 4 or so inches of rotted grass, by the way it snapped and crunched underfoot.
2. carpet mulch. yuck!!! Horticultural black plastic sheeting is your friend!
3. non-allotment non-decomposable rubbish.

I think my plot should have come with a statement like
"warning: steep learning curve ahead"  :o

Judging by the sell-by dates of various food wrappers, I'd say the plot has lain derelict since 2000.
Thing is, the previous occupiers laid down a mix of carpet and plastic sheeting, and then left it. I'd say they did this to get rid of the couch grass roots which are endemic at the site. Well, this doesn't work, at least for couch grass, and i have the proof. Seems to kill everything else though. When it's left for so long, earth accumulates on top of it and the grass has grown ON TOP OF the plastic sheeting, and in some parts, THROUGH it. So, it has proven a strenuous exercise clearing even a bit of it.

So the first step is to clear a space to lay some gravel to site a shed and table and a place to store tools. This bit of ground (shed and gravel) is approx 20x10 (feet). Wish me luck, i think I'll need it  ;D

beckydore