Author Topic: What do you feel really confident about giving advice on..or not???  (Read 2543 times)

telboy

• Hectare
  • I love Allotments4All
Interesting post Jeannine,
After nearly 30 yrs. allotment holding, I have to admit that the last 5 years have produced changes. I cannot comment on climate change but things have -  changed!
For myself, I am experiencing deseases which have not been experienced before.
I have tried for all these years to buy veg. seeds for Flavour - not Yield, as a dear man Bill Sowerbutts once produced a list.
I'll keep trying.
Eskimo Nel was a great Inuit.

dtw

• Hectare
  • What grows, You decide!
    • Classic & Cheesy TV adverts and other funny stuff
I know a small amount about chillies, I am growing more varieties this year.
This is my first year of having an allotment, so I am trying lots of new stuff that
I didn't have space for this year.  I only have a front garden which I am not really
supposed to grow veg in (according to my deeds). Am I going to get arrested if I do?::)

weedin project

• Acre
  • twig > leaf > flower > fruit > juice > WINE!!!
I'm fairly confident about grapes, but mostly on the basis that I've read lots of books about it.  My actual gardening experience and the value of the advice I can offer based on that is usually limited to my disasters and what might have caused them.

That said, ask me a direct question and I'll give you a direct answer.....  usually based on what my teachers told me to do when I asked them something they didn't know the answer to......  look it up in the library, Project!
"Given that these are probably the most powerful secateurs in the world, and could snip your growing tip clean off, tell me, plant, do you feel lucky?"

Jeannine

• Hectare
  • Mapleridge BC Canada
Oh the headlines. Man convicted of growing illegal plants in front garden,oh the scandal, I wouldn't risk it, you may have it on your record for life!!!