Author Topic: hands  (Read 3136 times)

debster

• Hectare
hands
« on: May 23, 2007, 15:35:45 »
this is possibly a very strange topic but any recommendations on how to get your hands really clean again after gardening there are some jobs I find impossible with gloves on. the problem is I am a nurse and it doesnt look too professional with half an acre of compost under my nails etc. btw as a nurse gardening in a hospital means a totally different thing so couldnt tell staff ive been gardening which is why my hands are dirty ha ha  ;D

glosterwomble

• Hectare
  • Gloucester - The South West
    • Fork it...a Gloucester allotment
Re: hands
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2007, 15:40:44 »
I had a friend who used to say that the elderly patients had 'been gardening'....yuk! (anyone who doesn't know must wonder what I'm talking about!) Washing up liquid with either salt or sugar mixed into it is quite good as a scrub to clean the hands after gardening. The other old trick is to scrape soap under the nails BEFORE gardening so soil can'rt get under them, I've only tried a few times but forget most of the time!
View my blog on returning a totally
 overgrown plot in Gloucester
 into a productive allotment ... http://fork-in-hell.blogspot.com/

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2007, 15:48:26 »
Put on a barrier cream prior to commencing the gardening chores!

cambourne7

• Hectare
  • Growing in the back garden having lost lotty
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2007, 16:05:13 »
I always keep my nails short but even then i find it difficult to clean my hands.

I find that before i have a shower i rub some exfoliating body scrub into my hands and that tends to work.

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2007, 16:36:45 »
Showa do a glove which is fine enough for most jobs and there is a gardeners pumice scrub available... ? Crabtree and Evelyn?

:)

debster

• Hectare