Author Topic: A Newbie saying hello - I really need help!  (Read 1562 times)

Maryann

A Newbie saying hello - I really need help!
« on: May 22, 2007, 15:29:58 »
Hi All
I have just joined but not sure if I am entitled to be here.
My meagre plot is in our garden.The OH and I have cleared the waste ground at the top of the garden, at long last, and have managed to fit in 4x4x4 raised beds in full sun. We live in East Sussex and face south. 
I am a total beginner at veg and don’t have a clue what I’m doing!
Reading the books, it would seem that this is not the right time to dig in manure but I feel the soil would need something. I find it all so confusing!!
My questions –
1 – Should I manure it anyway and get going?

2 – Manure and cover it until next year?

3 – Dig it over and sow some seed to see what happens?

I would really appreciate your advice.

Maryann

sarah

• Hectare
Re: A Newbie saying hello - I really need help!
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2007, 15:45:54 »
hello there, and welcome - of course you are entitled to be here  ;D.  we are pretty friendly.  there will be plenty along later to say hi.  as for your plot, i would suggest  the following; ifyou can getr hold of well rotted manure then dig that in and sow (except where you are going to sow carrots). if you cant get well rotted manure then i would sow and plant anyway and see how you go along, most things will grow given half a chanc3e and then manure in the autumn. hope that helps a little.   :)

wilko

• Acre
  • Crowle
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2007, 15:46:41 »
:) Hi Maryann,

Welcome to A4A,

I'm growing veg this year for the first time in our back garden , so I'll leave it for the others to answer your questions, I'm no expert  :-\

I could right a book on the mistakes I've made though  ;D

but everyone is friendly, so don't be afraid to ask  ;)
Life is to short !!!

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2007, 15:48:05 »