Author Topic: Black Fly treatment  (Read 33340 times)

gilgamesh

• Half Acre
Re:Black Fly treatment
« Reply #20 on: June 02, 2004, 17:04:22 »
Usually the stuff you'd use for ultra-delicates, Lux or Dreft - but the packet will say "soap flakes"
Sumer is a coming in....

philcooper

• Hectare
    • Hampshire Potato Day
« Reply #21 on: June 02, 2004, 17:11:15 »
The "posh" soap flakes will have a brand name like Dreft or Lux but will include the words soap flakes on the packet.

The cheaper, generic packets will be called "xxxxx Soap Flakes" or something similar

john_miller

• Hectare
« Reply #22 on: June 02, 2004, 23:19:45 »
Whatever 'flavour' is tried it is most important that a trial is conducted on a few leaves before the whole plant gets sprayed. Presently I am using 'Dawn' (the leading brand over here) "plus hand care" formulation (not my hands that were hoping to be protected I add!) which I have never used before. Even my test spray was applied with trepidation but no problems were detected so I have carried on using it. I doubt if U.K. flavours can have any less, or more, chance of toxicity compared to the myriad formulations available over here!
Would napalm, judiciously applied of course, work?

PoleDragon

• Don't follow me, I'm lost too...
« Reply #23 on: June 04, 2004, 21:14:28 »
Hmm, found this topic better late than never - I just today removed the tops (ok, top third) of some of my Crimson flowered broad beans as they were totally black with the miserable blighters.  Funny thing though - there are hardly any blackfly on the others in the four rows.  Just a couple of completely infested plants.

Will acquire some soap flakes asap and do a few test squirts before any more major breakouts occur.

and does anyone else suffer with little thrip type things that eat into the base of the broad bean flower?  A lot of the earliest flowers haven't set as they get nibbled into before they've barely opened.