Author Topic: Need to identify tiny plant in a hurry  (Read 1967 times)

Jeannine

• Hectare
  • Mapleridge BC Canada
Need to identify tiny plant in a hurry
« on: May 03, 2007, 21:02:24 »
In my school project garden  which is to be cleared out tomorrow there is lots of a very very low creeping plant with very tiny leaves that is only an inch or so high. I spreads  and look like a green carpet. I am not good with non edibles but this is pretty and I am wondering if it will transplant, it almost seems to be growing out of the concrete slabs. It is being pulled out before Tuesday, Does anyone know what it is from the description, I don't have time to take a picture now. Is it worth saving

XX Thank you Jeannine
When God blesses you with a multitude of seeds double  the blessing by sharing your  seeds with other folks.

Georgie

• Hectare
  • Enfield, North London
Re: Need to identify tiny plant in a hurry
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2007, 21:21:34 »
Could it be Kenilworth Ivy?

G x
'The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts.'

ellkebe

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2007, 21:22:14 »
Might be Creeping Jenny, aka Moneywort - you could google for an image and see what you think?  If it is, I have to admit that I love it, but it is invasive  :(

Jeannine

• Hectare
  • Mapleridge BC Canada
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2007, 21:31:01 »
Just googled. no. the leaves are so tiny about the size of a small lentil. When I look at it I feel I want to tap it ,it looks cushiony.no height atall really, it looks a bit like thyme but smaller
When God blesses you with a multitude of seeds double  the blessing by sharing your  seeds with other folks.

MrsKP

• Hectare
  • Sunny Glasgow
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2007, 21:50:16 »
Have just looked in Alan Titchmarsh's article on weeds in this month's GW and can't see anything like you describe.  Therefore it must be a plant to cherish!  ;D