Author Topic: Planting various seeds  (Read 1901 times)

Haggismonster

• Not So New ...
  • Novice Gardener!
Planting various seeds
« on: April 17, 2007, 12:51:50 »
Hi - I have just purchased some seeds off e-bay and I was wondering if anyone had advice for where to plant them (ie should I plant them into seed trays or can I plant them directly outside and what soild type do they prefer?) Sorry I know there are loads but I am new to this and don't have a clue!

Libertia peregrinans
Penstemon digitalis Husker's Red
Pimpinella major Rosea
Aquilegia mixed variety
Chloris distichophylla
Linum lewisii Blue Flax
Mesembryanthemum crinifl. mix
Angelica archangelica
Digitalis ferruginea
Persicaria superba rubra
Yellow Ratabidia
Rudbeckia
Allium
Mixed scabious
Pennisetum sect. rubrum
Cyperus (not sure what kind)

GREENWIZARD

• Hectare
Re: Planting various seeds
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2007, 14:17:43 »
Libertia peregrinans
Penstemon digitalis Husker's Red~~seed tray
Pimpinella major Rosea ~~sow direct
Aquilegia mixed variety~~sow direct

Chloris distichophylla
Linum lewisii Blue Flax~~sow direct
Mesembryanthemum crinifl. mix
Angelica archangelica~~sow direct
Digitalis ferruginea~~sow direct

Persicaria superba rubra
Yellow Ratabidia
Rudbeckia~~seed tray
Allium
Mixed scabious~~sow direct
Pennisetum sect. rubrum
Cyperus (not sure what kind)

...but i'm no expert

ALL PHOTOGRAPHS ARE COPYRIGHT

Haggismonster

• Not So New ...
  • Novice Gardener!
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2007, 17:12:27 »
cheers for that - I am spending loads of time looking all these up on the internet - any tips for a website that has most plants and details on how to grow it?

quizzical1

• Acre
  • Ceanothus in Northampton
    • My allotment and other garden related things
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2007, 23:50:37 »
Haggis, try looking here

http://www.bbc.co.uk/gardening/plants/plant_finder/index.shtml

Just type in the plant you want to know about.
Grow your own and enjoy the fruits of your labours,