Author Topic: LEATHERJACKETS!!!!!!! HELP!!!  (Read 5513 times)

SueLawn

• Not So New ...
Re: LEATHERJACKETS!!!!!!! HELP!!!
« Reply #20 on: April 12, 2007, 21:23:46 »
Hmmm, we have leatherjackets!
I have been finding them under the plant pots, and under the compost bags, I am new to this and didn't know what they were. I have been putting them in the compost bin, becasue I can't bare to squish them, either that or the wheely bin!!
We have just got an allotment (yesterday) and I am finding them there as well.
Our back lawn is slowly dying from the outside edges inwards, we are blaming it on drainage, but after reading this I am not sure.
I have a photo of the grass in Jan, and it looks fine, but now, we just have crusty bare earth. Out the front the lawn has disappeared and we have moss!
Our house is only 3 yrs old, and part of a new development, all teh neighbours are complaining about their grass too, and say it is down to drainage.
Sue

emmy1978

• Hectare
  • It's good to be in my gardening shoes again!
« Reply #21 on: April 16, 2007, 12:59:13 »
i've been on to our landlords but as is isn't drainage they don't care. I'm thinking there will be lots of builders rubble under the probably very thin soil.
The ground is rock hard and nearly all the grass is gone. Can i give it all a really good water and reseed? Help please as i don't want to go through the summer like this!  :-[
Don't throw paper away. There is no away.

cambourne7

• Hectare
  • Growing in the back garden having lost lotty
« Reply #22 on: April 18, 2007, 13:24:08 »
I found this and though it might be helpful

http://www.garden-care.org.uk/hot_press.asp

Plum

• Quarter Acre
« Reply #23 on: April 18, 2007, 19:00:54 »
Green Gardener suggesttreating bad infestations  now and in Sept . Just ordered a special deal were I get one treatment of nematodes now and nother sent in September so I won't forget(and it works out cheaper
« Last Edit: April 18, 2007, 19:10:25 by Plum »

LJ

• Quarter Acre