Author Topic: Total beginner - sorry if you heard this all before  (Read 1698 times)

pinklaces34

Total beginner - sorry if you heard this all before
« on: April 17, 2007, 12:35:37 »
Hi, I am going to be hopefully getting a plot at an allotment near me in about 15 weeks and as I am totally new to this was just wondering what the easiest way would be for me to start.  Bear in mind the only thing I have ever planted is some ready grown herbs in a window box.  I would really like to be able to grow vegetables in the plot so any tips on getting started would be greatly appreciated.  Sorry if this is a question you get a lot.

Thanks  :)

coznbob

• Hectare
  • Hastings
Re: Total beginner - sorry if you heard this all before
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2007, 12:42:30 »
Don't be silly, everyone has got to start somewhere, and ask silly questions to learn!   Especially me ::)

Good luck with the plot and someone who knows a lot more than I will probably answer your questions a lot better. But I guess it really depends on what condition your plot will be in at the time you get it, what you like to eat etc...

Do a search on here and there are a lot of interesting threads and maybe get a few things started off in tubs etc that you can plant out when you get the plot, depending if you can see it for brambles etc

Hope all goes well..... :)
Smile at your enemies.

It makes them wonder what you are up to.

OliveOil

• Hectare
  • Lincs
    • Phoenix Traders Forum
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2007, 12:56:01 »
Hey - welcome to the best allotment site!

The only advice i have is not to panic or worry. It will all happen and this time next year you will be an expert LOL

Simba42

• Half Acre
    • Jen's Allotment
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2007, 12:56:26 »
welcome.