Author Topic: Tetnus....yet again.... ( Ina if you are looking in....)  (Read 1916 times)

Mrs Ava

• Hectare
I know this has been covered and covered....and I keep threatening to go have mine....well, I thought I should report back.  I went to the quacks as my hernia is giving me merry hell at the moment, and asked if I could PLEASE have a tetnus jab as I am a gardener for a living.  He checked through my records, and then checked with the nurse, and a more senior doc, and because I have had 5 in my lifetime to date, I should never need another.  However, he quickly pointed out that if I cut myself, or prick myself on anything iffy, don't take any chances, nip to a&e to have the injury PROPERLY cleaned, dressed, and then they will give me a tetnus jab, purely as a precaution.  So, I have now checked, and rechecked, and to quack checked and rechecked, and I am happy that I will not have to be used as a pin cushion.  ;D

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
Re: Tetnus....yet again.... ( Ina if you are looking in....)
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2007, 18:41:29 »
a&e - are there any left? On a Sunday??

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2007, 19:30:38 »
Let's hope nobody has an accident on Christmas day.

lorna

• Hectare
  • March. Cambridgeshire
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2007, 19:39:38 »
Emma. Sorry to hear your hernia is playing you up. Any help from the Doctor?

kenkew

• Hectare
  • Don't look now but...
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2007, 19:47:02 »
Tetanus used to be 5 years, then (probably due to cost) was extended to 10 years. Five in a life should be enough to kill a crocodile if it ever bit you....that's if you didn't whack it first, EJ... :D

ACE

• Hectare
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2007, 07:20:25 »
My son had one last week aged 20 was told he will never need another.

I wish they had found that out years ago, I've lost count of mine.

Kea

• Hectare
« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2007, 17:08:58 »