Author Topic: HELP! I'm new to this  (Read 17877 times)

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
Re: HELP! I'm new to this
« Reply #40 on: August 17, 2007, 08:11:24 »
If it did you would have to waste time watering stuff!
 ;D

MPG

• Quarter Acre
« Reply #41 on: August 17, 2007, 08:41:05 »
Hi there, back to the snake bit of ur post, as im sure many will say on here we have 3 kinds of snake in this country not counting any escapes made by pets of corse lol,
the Adder
the Grass snake apparently more common than the Adder
and even more rare is the smooth snake not slow worm i belive
a slow worm is a lizard with no legs
the Adder is the only 1 i no that could give a venemous bite but not dangerous unless extremely young or old or suffer heart prob's get a bite
please dont take this for gospel i looked up on net a while bk.
snakes are also protected animals i think could be wrong.
but you should feel pleased to have them around you and they are more scared of you than u are of it.
why not do a search on google on snakes like i did. you can find out all the markings and see pics and what not so atleast you will be btr prepared for if you c another one. MPG

redimp

• Hectare
  • Colonia Domitiana Lindensium, Flavia Caesariensis
« Reply #42 on: August 17, 2007, 18:34:48 »

Slow Worm (Legless Lizard)
Status:  Protected in Britain under Schedule 5 of the Wildlife and Countryside Act (1981). Listed under Appendix III of the Bern Convention and Classified as a Species of Conservation Concern under the UK Biodiversity Action Plan (UKBAP), but not a priority species.