Author Topic: Keeping Records  (Read 1859 times)

KittyKatt

• Half Acre
Keeping Records
« on: February 28, 2007, 21:03:38 »
Being fairly new to allotments, I'm curious to find out what kind of records people keep? I already keep a garden diary, but want to extend this to the allotment. I've had a couple of attempts, but can't seem to get the balance right. I want to have records that I can refer to in future years - when I did things, what I sowed, planted etc, what worked and what didn't - but so far it's either too simplistic. or else becomes too complicated. I was thinking of using a loose leaf file so I can add pages where necessary. Can anyone else share what works for them regarding record keeping?

hazelize_uk

• Half Acre
  • Northampton
Re: Keeping Records
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2007, 21:08:32 »
well this is my first year but so far i have started an excel spreadsheet with layout and what is going where and then i was thinking of adding notes to that re what works and more important what doesnt! trying to get my head round companion planting to slot in with it too but i agree it can get VERY complicated think i may be thinking too much! me and OH are even dreaming about allotments now!!

kt.

• Hectare
  • Teesside
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2007, 21:18:59 »
Have not kept a diary before. This is my first year of proper planning and preparation. My plot is divided into 4 areas for the 4 catagories of veg.  Arrows showing the next rotation cycle are on the diagram & each quadrant numbered 1-4.

Gonna laminate this then I only have to change the numbers to area 1 area 2 area 3 area4 each year. Crop rotation diagram should be enough for me I hope.
All you do and all you see is all your life will ever be

quizzical1

• Acre
  • Ceanothus in Northampton
    • My allotment and other garden related things
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2007, 21:26:35 »