Author Topic: I have some money to spend!  (Read 6671 times)

sally_cinnamon

• Acre
  • "A posse ad esse" - From possibility to actuality
    • Got a new website - still not finished!!
I have some money to spend!
« on: February 23, 2007, 11:48:47 »
Hi all,

I've got some dosh to spend!  And as a beginner I don't know what things are worthwhile buying so thought I'd pick your brains!

I have been given £30 from relatives and £30 of garden centre vouchers from my work-friends for my b'day and wondered if anyone had any"best buys" that they could recommend?

I'm thinking either:-
something extravagant that I wouldn't normally buy, OR
something of superior quality that I couldn't normally afford, OR
lots of little things that will make me feel like I've got lots for my money!

So far I've looked at Lidl and Wilko websites and am considering the following (fit into the 3rd cat. above!)
Lidl - secateurs 99p, outdoor door mat £1.69, seed bed protection £2.99, 3pc tool set (mini fork, trowel, hole-maker (?!)) £2.99.
Wilko - rake £3.99, chicken wire (50mm) 60cm x 10m £3.99, metal arch £4.99.

Whaddya think?

:)
Thank you to all who donated to the Moonlight Half Marathon Walk in aid of St Catherine's Hospice - my mum and I raised just over £300!!!    ............     Thanks!  :-)

cambourne7

• Hectare
  • Growing in the back garden having lost lotty
Re: I have some money to spend!
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2007, 11:50:32 »
well it depends how big is your plot and what have you already got and what do you want to do on your plot :-)

quizzical1

• Acre
  • Ceanothus in Northampton
    • My allotment and other garden related things
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2007, 11:58:58 »
Chicken wire would be a good idea if you're going to be growing brassicas, to keep the pigeons from eating the young foliage.
Grow your own and enjoy the fruits of your labours,
Regards Alan.

http://achalmers-quizzical1.blogspot.com/

Wasp_Box

• Not So New ...