Author Topic: broad beans  (Read 1974 times)

philandbentheflowerpotmen

broad beans
« on: February 20, 2007, 10:06:59 »
Hello all i am a complete novice,so any advice would be much appreciated.
I sowed my broad beans indoors in Jan,as instructed on the packet,they are growing really well,but i have started to get blackness on the tips of most of the leaves,any cures for this or am i just doing something wrong? 

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
Re: broad beans
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2007, 15:51:37 »
Could you elaborate a bit more on how you are keeping them! e.g. position, watering, pots.

I have a feeling that the conditions you are growing them in might be a bit too humid.

« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2007, 02:10:13 »
I was keeping them in my utility room,until they became a bit large,i have transferred them all to my shed,they are in the correct size pots according to the packet,i don't think i am over watering as i am only watering to enough to keep the soil moist.Do you think i should be supporting them in some way as they are drooping all over the place at the minute

quizzical1

• Acre
  • Ceanothus in Northampton
    • My allotment and other garden related things
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2007, 11:35:03 »
Utility room and/or shed? Are they getting enough light? If not they will become very leggy, which might be the cause of them drooping everywhere.
Grow your own and enjoy the fruits of your labours,
Regards Alan.

http://achalmers-quizzical1.blogspot.com/

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2007, 12:29:09 »
There is a few things here;

I was keeping them in my utility room,until they became a bit large,i have transferred them all to my shed,

As Alan says; it could be lack of light I would add to that and say, that they might be too warm.