Author Topic: My first post! Which plot would you choose?  (Read 6058 times)

LauraB

• Half Acre
  • West Bromwich
My first post! Which plot would you choose?
« on: December 04, 2006, 14:30:33 »
I'm a complete beginner to allotment gardening and have only registered here today, so be gentle with me! I have lots and lots of questions to ask you all.

I've just been to view available plots at my local allotments and have three choices;

No. 14 is a huge corner plot (looks about 120ft by 40ft to me, but I'm not great at guessing distances) with a ramshackle greenhouse and shed at the end which has been untended for a few years. It is moderately weedy. It backs on to a row of very large trees, and a fence and hedge, and so will rather shady throughout the mornings

No. 44 is a bit smaller, maybe 20ft by 80ft, and hasn't been tended for 7 years. It isn't overlooked by anything so will receive full sunlight. No outbuildings. The downside is that it is unbeleivably badly kept - the brambles were shoulder height and there's a dead tree at the front, and it is littered with plastic and pallets. It seems ideal in size and location but I's very daunted at the sheer amount of work needed just to clear it

No.94 is a half plot in a similar location and state. It contains the remains of an asbestos containing shed.

The allotments have apparently had some financial difficulties over the past two years as they've broken away from the council and become self run. This means that there are no skips this year to dispose of waste (unless I pay of course). I can, however, have the plot free until January 2008

To give you an idea of my plans, I'd like to grow some staple fruits and vegetables, nothing exotic (maybe next year when I'm less of a dunce  ;)) and compost some of my household waste. I'd also like to grow some bedding plants for use in my tiny garden at home.

Which plot would you take? Where do I start?

manicscousers

• Hectare
  • www.golborne-allotments.co.uk