Author Topic: New Allotment - Ideas  (Read 2895 times)

sandersj89

• Hectare
  • Who me?
    • My Allotment Blog
New Allotment - Ideas
« on: April 19, 2004, 16:55:10 »

I am thinking about getting my hands on an allotment, I seem to be running out of space in my own veg garden and there is an added complication that I do not own the land that my plot is on. It comes rent free but I have no security. I have been growing veg for about 8 years on my current plot but have grown before. Being a farmers son, though not working in agriculture, I find the time I spend out there with a fork in my hand good exercise and therapeutic. Also the pleasure of growing and then eating good fresh food is hard to beat.

Having spoken to my local council their 2 sites are full but two independents have plots, one being about ¾ of a mile from my house.

I would love some input from you guys who have plots about the day to day practicalities of running a plot. Is there water on site as a general rule , are sheds/greenhouses allowed, how secure are things, what size are the plots, how much do they cost per year, is it 24/7 access, can I pick my plot, etc.

Any information would be very useful. I plan to ring the chairman of the site this week to discuss with him. If the plots are overgrown I might wait until autumn and work through the winter to clear them, if they are in good form I may take one on right away.

Being at a distance, all be it close, I will probably grow hardier stuff there that does not need daily care. Maincrop Spuds, sweet corn, brassicas, root crops, pumpkins, leeks, etc.

Your thoughts will be very welcome.

Jerry
Caravan Holidays in Devon, come stay with us:

http://crablakefarm.co.uk/

I am now running a Blogg Site of my new Allotment:

http://sandersj89allotment.blogspot.com/

Hot Chilli Pepper

Re:New Allotment - Ideas
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2004, 11:51:07 »

Tall Trees

• Not So New ...
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2004, 09:20:15 »