Author Topic: Green Manure  (Read 1840 times)

Plot 69

Green Manure
« on: October 09, 2006, 19:11:32 »
Hi,i'm new to Allotments4all,so first of all hello to everyone!
Was hoping someone could help me with a question i have about green manure; assuming that i am going to plant veg from each family in separate raised beds next spring,what kind of green manure should i be putting in the respective beds? I know for example that mustard (which i've already sown) is related to the brassicas and so i shouldn't follow that with the same,but i've also read that i shouldn't manure the bed where i'm going to put root veg at all.What i need is a chart showing me which GM's are ok to sow before which veg! Any help would be most appreciated.
Thanks a lot
Plot 69

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
Re: Green Manure
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2006, 19:55:43 »
Tares/vetch are in the pea and bean group... ryegrass is OK but will reduce germination of seed in the bed next year and Phacalia is safe anywhere... and if it flowers bees love it!
 ;D

calendula

• Hectare
  • learn to love your weeds (saddleworth)
    • homeopathy
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2006, 20:00:23 »
I would suggest that the first thing to decide is what you want  from a green manure, i.e. to fix nitrogen, to bulk up poor soil, suppress weeds etc and then you can select the best one for the purpose, for example if you need to break up soil then something like a deep rooter such as buckwheat would be a good choice; nitrogen fixers = clover, winter tares; adding humous = phacelia and fenugreek

These are just a few examples - as you say the mustards are very easy and good but they are brassicas and if you are planning on crop rotation you have to keep that in mind

most of the seed catalogues sell gm's now and give added advice as well