Author Topic: Ready meals  (Read 4886 times)

keef

• Hectare
Ready meals
« on: October 06, 2006, 20:30:06 »
Just watched the money show, which was about ready meals.

They said that something like only 18% of people make a meal from scratch at least one day a week!! One family (with 3 young kids) said it meant they could all have what they wanted and it was all ready in about 11 minutes, well if you've got 2 or 3 microwaves maybe. Another preferred buying pre-made mash (not smash - proper mashed spuds + loads of other cack to stop it going off) because peeling spuds and boiling them was too much hassle! (well you don't actually HAVE to peel nicely washed shop bought spuds..)

I admit to having a ready meal perhaps once a month (probably less) if I'm in a hurry to go out etc.. (excluding the odd pot-noddle after the pub).

What do you think about ready meals, how often do you eat ready meals?
Straight outt'a compton - West Berkshire.

Please excuse my spelling, i am an engineer

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
Re: Ready meals
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2006, 20:59:13 »
Not very. The kids keep buying pizzas and rubbish like that when they have money; occasionally we indulge. Namissa found a halal pizza place, which is a disgraceful encouragement.

grawrc

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Edinburgh
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2006, 21:14:03 »
We really never do ready meals. Nearest we get is buying "stuffed" pasta. Oh I lie! An occasional pizza for 4 year old granddaughter.

MrsKP

• Hectare
  • Sunny Glasgow
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2006, 21:20:37 »
very rarely.  pizza and pies are probably our most ready made but with that will go fresh veg or salad.

people have been conditioned to live the rat race and buy accordingly.

oh and beer, i don't make my own beer.

;D
There's something happening every day  @ http://kaypeesplot.blogspot.com/ & http://kaypeeslottie.blogspot.com/

wellingtons

• Quarter Acre
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2006, 21:25:11 »