Author Topic: first tip first question  (Read 1711 times)

isbister

• Half Acre
  • Middlesex
first tip first question
« on: September 26, 2006, 10:07:47 »
Hello everyone

I'm new here and looking forward to gaining and sharing knowledge. Wife and I have had an allotment for three years. I was a tree surgeon for twenty years, then a landscape gardener and now a general gardener (age catches up with you) so I've been involved with growing stuff for a long time. However, when we took on the allotment I quickly realised I knew stuff all about vegetables....steep learning curve later i think we've got it under control, somewhat...still a lot to learn though.
Anyway, my tip is: contact your local swimming pool maintenance company. They have old pool covers which they just throw away. This stuff is like industrial strength bubble wrap, comes in any colour you like as long as it's blue, and is designed to float on the pool surface and keep the heat in. I've managed to get one about fifty feet by twenty! I just know it's going to be extremely useful but all I've done with it so far is cut bits off and line my pallet compost bins...
My question is woodlice. This year they've been eating our tomatoes bigtime, and the beetroot, and we've even found them on the runner beans, it's a veritable plague. I thought it might have been the drought we've had here driving them to moisture but it's wet enough now and they're still at it. Any ideas re this, I'm organic so can't use chemical controls. Thanks

bennettsleg

• Hectare
  • hertford, herts. 2 windowsills, no greenhouse
Re: first tip first question
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2006, 10:16:50 »
welcome and thanks for the Top Tip (very very top tip!).

Sorry, but I have no idea about the woodlice, but someone will be along soon. :)

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2006, 10:49:19 »