Author Topic: Who stole all my earthworms?  (Read 3424 times)

MurphyX

• Not So New ...
  • Throw the ball. JUST THROW THE FRICKING BALL OK?
    • Laptops4All.co.uk
Who stole all my earthworms?
« on: August 06, 2006, 18:28:11 »
Hi all

I'm a newbie to this site and apologise if I have posted to the wrong section of the forum.

My wife and I have just got our own adjoining 'his and hers' allotments and have started the incredibly laborious task of double digging (my back hurts, my legs hurt, my head hurts, brilliant isn't it?).

The plots were vacant for a number of years and the soil is in pretty awful condition (6 inches of dust on top of a heavy clay seam).

To my surprise there don't appear to be any earthworms!?!?!?!?!?!?

I've just googled the problem and seen a reference to earthworms rolling up in a ball and hiding, deep down, in very hot and dry weather. Has anyone else noticed this phenomenon? If so, will the earthworms ever come back?

calendula

• Hectare
  • learn to love your weeds (saddleworth)
    • homeopathy
Re: Who stole all my earthworms?
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2006, 19:31:36 »
it is only because it has been so hot and dry - put loads of manure on and when the autumn rains come they will be back in abundance (personally, unless you are anxious to get planting now, I would delay the digging until the land is more workable)

Palustris

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2006, 20:32:55 »
You answered your own query in a way when you mentioned that the soil was like dust. The sun stole your earthworms! Or at least sent them deep underground to where they can find the moisture they need to survive. Add as much organic material as you can to your soil and soon it will be heaving with them. As Calendula says, autumn rain if we get any will help no end.
Gardening is the great leveller.

MurphyX

• Not So New ...
    • Laptops4All.co.uk
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2006, 07:54:40 »